Cosmic Murmurs - Aaron Gage

00:00​ - Prologue
01:26​ - Ambient Metal
04:07​ - Orchestral Interlude
06:15​ - Metal/Orchestra Mashup
08:22​ - Epilogue

Cosmic Murmurs is an incredibly special project to me and is my largest personal project completed to date. It was first started 3 years ago in my basement studio just messing around with orchestral samples and a Line 6 POD board. Over the years, I've been fortunate enough to come across so many amazing musicians that have helped make my image of it come to live. Allow me to take you on a journey for the next 10 minutes. It consists of 5 distinct sections, which can be thought of as mini movements. The Prologue establishes a dark tonality of heavy strings, bells, and throat singing. This transitions into Section 2, which introduces the aspects of the metal band as an ambient metal texture. A fiery climax of the metal section leads into a transition to Section 3. This section is an orchestral interlude that utilizes all of the instruments of a full-size orchestra. The harp gradually fades into a heart-felt oboe duet, progressively building to a large orchestral climax. Following Section 3, Section 4 blasts off with heavy drums and bass which kicks into double time from the content of Section 2. Piece by piece, the orchestra and band meld together into a seamless blend of orchestra and metal. After all the motions have moved, a scream of the winds and trumpets on a high A signal the explosive ending. Section 5, the ending, reviews all of the thematic material developed in the previous sections. Everyone is playing their instruments as loud as possible for an incredibly emotional delivery of the final button which dies away with the calling of the opening guitar theme.

Written and Produced by: Aaron Gage
Orchestra Mixed by: Aaron Gage
Metal Band Mixed by: Aaron Gage/Ondrej Tvarozek
Mastered by: Ondrej Tvarozek
Video Produced by: Aaron Gage
Drums Recorded at Oceanic Recording in Bethesda, MD

Guitars/Vocals/Strings: Aaron Gage
8 String Guitar/Bass: Ondrej Tvarozek
Drums: Matt Benoit
Piccolo: Gret Price
Flute/Oboe/English Horn: Mark Sophia
Clarinet: Brian Tracey
Bass Clarinet: Emily Wise
Bassoons: Alex Carlucci/Sandy Johnson
Harp: Jordan Thomas
Horn 1&3: Janice Baugh
Horn 2&4: Patrick Rutledge
Trumpet: Justin Nurin
Trombone/Bass Trombone: Daniel Pendley
Tuba: Drake Domingue
Tube Bells: Evan Gedert

Load Comments...

Send this Article to a Friend

Separate multiple emails with a comma (,); limit 5 recipients

Your email has been sent successfully!

Manage this Video in Your Playlists

notify when someone comments

This website uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using this website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

I agree
Learn More